News

Hello you.

The eagle-eyed amongst you may have noticed that several of my books are no longer listed on Amazon.

In fact, the only ones available are those published by HarperCollins, over which I have no sway for the time being.

This move is one that I have long been contemplating, and the short version is that I no longer have the thirst for writing that used to consume my every waking thought (and the vast majority of my unwaking ones too). Part of this feeling is motivated by changes in my lifestyle which mean that I don’t have as much time to write as I used to, part of it is that I’m older and wiser and in a sense I have already set out to do what I wanted (to get a book in print). And in all honesty, the biggest part is a feeling that often compounds me, that of pissing in the wind before banging my head against a brick wall. I question whether it’s all worth it a lot of the time. And I’m being totally straight with you here. This is a decision that I’ve wrestled with for some time, so it’s not a cry for help. I’m not seeking reassurance, or acceptance. The truth of it is, if you are reading this now then it’s a safe bet that you’ve read some or all of my books or even just the one; it doesn’t matter, you’re part of the gang even if you’ve only made it halfway through. So you know I don’t need your sympathy 🙂

Maybe it’s just a phase. Maybe one day in a month, a year, ten years time, I will wake up and think again. Maybe not. We shall have to wait and see. I might write again under a different name and start from scratch building up a loyal fanbase like you lot.

So I took the radical step of taking down my books from Amazon and CreateSpace as a way of taking the first step towards complete retirement from writing. I still have a Cornelius Quaint book in the works that is due early to mid 2016 (and which I’m way behind on as some kind folks keep reminding me 😉 and I have a plan for how people can still read it without needing to go through Amazon. Oh, and this isn’t a hate-Amazon move either BTW. It’s purely a creative decision on my part. Nothing more.

If this does turn out to be my last book ever, I am determined to make sure that The Immortal Coil is one to remember me by. I promise to update this blog with news once it arrives and I’ll pop in to say goodbye and a massive thanks to all those nice people who have gone out of their way to support me over the years.

thanks.

Leave a Reply

